Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/alliance/public_html/IndianapolisCarmelHotel.com/wp-content/themes/new_kaboodle/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Connor Prairie

Conner Prairie is known as an “Interactive History Park.” This is where history comes to life.  Families can  engage, explore and discover what it was like to live and play in Indiana’s past. Every visit is a different adventure and they even have special year around programs.  They can even cater your special event here in the beautiful surroundings of the prairie.  From Holiday Inn Indianapolis/ Carmel start out going east on Pennsylvania Pky, take the 1st right,  turn left onto Pennsylvania Pky,  enter next roundabout and take the 3rd exit onto E 103rd St, turn right onto US-31 N, turn right onto E Greyhound Pass,  turn left onto E 146th St, urn right onto Allisonville Rd,  Conner Prairie is on the right.

Dial back two hundred years, and you would find William Conner living in a log home beside the White River with his Lenape Indian spouse and five children. To make a living, he bought furs from Indians who trapped the rich forests of this state.  But William’s life and Indiana changed rapidly soon after. The Lenape left Indiana. William Conner married anew and in 1823 built a grand house on a hill overlooking a flood plain that came to be known as “Conner’s Prairie.” He became a major land owner, a statesman and a wealthy businessman.  In the 1930s, Eli Lilly, then president of the pharmaceutical company, stumbled upon Conner’s house, forgotten and falling down. Lilly believed history to be an essential cornerstone of American democracy, so he bought the Conner Homestead in 1934 and immediately began using it as the centerpiece for historical reenactments to “connect people with history in ways books cannot.” Always a champion of education, Lilly opened the site to the public so people could see their heritage brought to life.  That was the start of the first phase of Conner Prairie’s life. Over the decades, present-day Conner Prairie began to take shape.  The second phase began in the 1970s when Museum Director Myron Vourax worked with renowned Folklorist Henry Glassie to create a “living history museum.” A place where staff dress, act and speak as if in the time period they portray. 1836 Prairietown opened at this time. What first became known as the “Conner Prairie Concept” because it was so new, later developed into our groundbreaking Opening Doors approach to guest interaction.  .

Website: http://connerprairie.org/

Address: 13400 Allisonville Road, Fishers, IN

Phone Number: (317) 776-6000